Fall 2008

Left to right: Phil Moy, Jim Hurley, and Chris Babiarz

Program and People News

It took two people to fill the shoes of Jim Hurley (center), ASC assistant director for research and outreach, over the past year. Phil Moy (left), UW Sea Grant fisheries and aquatic nuisance species specialist based at UW–Manitowoc, set up camp in Madison during Hurley’s absence to work on Sea Grant-related issues. Chris Babiarz (right), assistant scientist in the Water Science and Engineering Laboratory, managed Hurley’s Water Resources responsibilities.

During his time away, Hurley served as an associate program officer with the National Sea Grant Program office in Silver Spring, Maryland. The National Sea Grant folks liked Hurley so much that they have asked him to continue on half-time until the end of the year, and he has agreed. Heartfelt thanks are extended to Moy and Babiarz for their outstanding contributions thus far and willingness to fill in for Hurley as he shuttles back and forth between Madison and D.C.

Carolyn Rumery Betz, science writer, was awarded the 2008 Water Champion Award by the Dane County Lakes and Watershed Commission for overseeing water quality improvement efforts in the Lake Mendota Priority Watershed Project.

Anne Moser, librarian, has been selected to serve as faculty advisor to the Special Libraries Association- Student Chapter at the School of Library and Information Studies.

Wisconsin’s Water Library welcomes new project assistant Jennifer Champoux, a second-year graduate student in the School of Library and Information Studies. Champoux brings experience with library operations and enthusiasm for top-notch reference services.

Congratulations to Peter Boger, ASC Project Assistant, on receiving a M.S. in Land Resources. Boger bids us farewell to pursue a Ph.D. in Environment and Resources at the UW’s Nelson Institute for Environmental Studies.

The Aquatic Sciences Center is the administrative home of the
University of Wisconsin Sea Grant Institute & University of Wisconsin Water Resources Institute.

©2011 University of Wisconsin Board of Regents